Originally published Wednesday, January 16, 2019 at 10:06p.m.

Yavapai County School Superintendent Tim Carter swore in two members of the Yavapai College District Governing Board during the board’s work study session Tuesday, Jan. 15.

Newly elected member Paul Chevalier represents District 3, which includes Sedona, and returning member Ray Sigafoos represents District 1, which includes Prescott.

Sigafoos, 14-year board member, was again elected as board chair. Board member Steve Irwin, representing District 5, which includes Prescott Valley, was elected board secretary. Board members serve six-year terms; officer terms are for one year.

Chevalier replaces Dr. Connie Harris and served as chair of the Yavapai College Verde Valley Board Advisory Committee from 2014-16. He also has chaired the Sedona Arts & Culture Commission and the Sedona Community Foundation.

Sigafoos, a licensed Certified Public Accountant since 1971, has at various times served on the boards of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, the Phippen Museum, and the Yavapai Community Hospital Association.

The Yavapai College District Governing Board is comprised of five elected representatives and is responsible for governing on behalf of, and accountable to, the taxpayers of Yavapai County. Its members develop policies that govern the operations of the college, delegate responsibilities to the college president, and hold the president accountable through a structured monitoring process.

The public is invited to attend governing board meetings that take place at 1 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month, except July and December. Meetings rotate to various locations within the college district. Visit www.yc.edu/dgb for more information and a schedule of upcoming meetings.