Originally published Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 06:00a.m.

Central Arizona Fire and Medical Authority (CAFMA) crews assisted the Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management on a grass fire near the Haystack Ranch Subdivision in Chino Valley midday Monday, June 11.

The fire was started while heavy machinery was working on the road and quickly spread to about three acres in size, said CAFMA spokesperson Rob Zazueta.

It took crews about an hour and a half to contain the 3-acre fire.

— The Daily Courier


Cathy Coppes (City of Chandler)

Police dispatcher killed in crash near Flagstaff

CHANDLER, Ariz. (AP) — Police in Chandler say one of their department’s 911 dispatchers is dead after being struck by a suspected impaired driver near Flagstaff.

Authorities say Cathy Coppes was pronounced dead at the scene of Sunday’s crash on U.S 89 about 20 miles north of Flagstaff.

They say Coppes was operating a motorcycle around 10:30 a.m. when a vehicle going in the opposite direction crossed the center line and struck her head-on.

Chandler police call the fatal accident “a tragic and senseless loss.”

They say the 58-year-old Coppes had been with department in April 2002 and is survived by her hus-band.

The Arizona Department of Public Safety is investigating the crash and the suspected impaired driver has not been identified yet.


Phoenix City Councilwoman Thelda Williams (City of Phoenix)

Councilwoman will be temporary Phoenix mayor

PHOENIX (AP) — A bipartisan coalition of the Phoenix City Council has unanimously selected Councilwoman Thelda Williams to be temporary mayor until a special election is held.

Greg Stanton stepped aside as Phoenix mayor last month to run for a U.S. congressional seat.

The council coalition voted Monday on Williams’ temporary appointment.

She will continue to represent the city’s District 1 while also serving as mayor.

A special election to choose a new, permanent mayor will be held Nov. 6.

A runoff election will be held March 12, 2019 if needed.

Williams has been the District 1 representative since 2008, and previously served on the council from 1989 to 1996.